10th Tennessee/Georgia All-star tilt at McCallie

The Stump On Sports Tennessee-Georgia All-Star Football Classic celebrates a birthday with the 10th Annual meeting of the Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia stars on June 8 at McCallie School in Chattanooga.
Class of 2013 graduates from more than a dozen counties in Southeast Tennessee will again battle their counterparts from a dozen counties in Northwest Georgia.
Classic originator Stump Martin said All-star Classic game day is one of his favorite days of the year.
"The Classic has been a sports happening in the Chattanooga area since the inaugural event at Ridgeland High back in 2004," Martin said. "This happening is possible because we have coaches who love the kids and love to coach them. For some it's their final game and for others it's a kick-start towards their college careers."
Boyd-Buchanan head coach Grant Reynolds will lead the Tennessee Stars with North Murray head coach David "Goo" Gann guiding the Georgia Stars for a 7:30 kickoff at the 4,000-seat Spears Stadium.
The two have a common bond. Reynolds was on Robert Akins' staff at Boyd-Buchanan for years and coached under him in the All-star Football Classic.
Gann coached under Akins at Ringgold. The former Tigers all-state lineman left home in 2012 to take the head coaching job at North Murray. He was Georgia's offensive coordinator under Akins last June in the at Ringgold and was the head coach of the Georgia All-stars that lost to Central Georgia in the D.L. Scott Coalition Bowl in the Georgia Dome in December.
Reynolds will be attempting to become the first head coach in All-star Football Classics history to go 2-0 in the game.
The Boyd-Buchanan leader has guided his Buccaneers to a 56-21 record and TSSAA state playoff appearances every season since taking over in 2007. His 2009 squad lost to Trousdale County for the state championship and his Bucs have played in two state semifinals and two quarterfinals under his leadership.
In 2010, Reynolds' Tennessee All-stars defeated Georgia 17-0 at Baylor School.
"These two coaches are young and energetic and love to coach kids," Martin said. "I'm excited about this match-up because Gann is an offensive-minded coach and Reynolds' defenses are always tough."
It will be the first trip for the All-star Classic to McCallie School. The game has been played at Bowers-Painter Stadium at Ridgeland, Raymond James Stadium in East Ridge, Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, Heywood Stadium at Baylor School and in 2012 at Don Patterson Stadium in Ringgold, Ga.
This will be the eighth year that the game has been played on turf.
"The immaculate turf field and the way Spears Stadium is built on the slope of Missionary Ridge will give the event a new look for this year," Martin said. "McCallie head coach Ralph Potter has always been a fan of this game and I feel sure the school will be gracious hosts for the 7:30 kickoff."
Tennessee/Georgia Football Classic Records
2004 - Tennessee 28, Georgia 7 (at Ridgeland)
2005 - Georgia 29, Tennessee 7 (at East Ridge)
2006 - Tennessee 9, Georgia 5 (at Finley Stadium)
2007 - Georgia 14, Tennessee 13 (at Finley Stadium)
2008 - Tennessee 41, Georgia 0 (at Finley Stadium)
2009 - Tennessee 31, Georgia 14 (at Ridgeland)
2010 - Tennessee 17, Georgia 0 (at Baylor)
2011 - Georgia 31, Tennessee 21 (at Baylor)
2012 - Tennessee 7, Georgia 3 (at Ringgold)
Players of the Game
2004 - MVP: Michael Davenport (Central), TN: Eric Marsh (Red Bank),
GA: Justin Rogers (Chattooga)
2005 - MVP: Caleb Callahan (Northwest Whitfield), TN: Josey Rutley (Tyner),
GA: Blue Cooper (Coosa)
2006 - MVP: Chris Ricketts (Soddy-Daisy), TN: Drew Nelson (Notre Dame),
GA: Darius Benham (Cartersville)
2007 - MVP: Tymon Hudson (Rome), TN: Caleb Wilson (Rhea County),
GA: Rhett Headden (NW Whitfield)
2008 - MVP: Tim Benford (Red Bank), TN: Wilson Jackson (Rhea County),
GA: Scottie Talley (Dade County)
2009 - MVP: Josh Blake (Grace), TN: Nic Hughes (Boyd-Buchanan),
GA: Matt Talkington (Ringgold)
2010 - MVP: Terrell Robinson (South Pittsburg), TN: Jackie Reeves (Brainerd),
GA: Jalen Fields (Dalton)
2011 - MVP: Paul Walton (Ridgeland), TN: Joseph Derrick (Brainerd),
GA: Offensive Line
2012 - MVP: Kameno Watson (Red Bank), TN: Trent Lusk (McCallie),
GA: Justin Adekoya (Heritage)
Most Rushing Yards
89 - Trey Wesley (Hiram, 2011)
87 - Paul Walton (Ridgeland, 2011)
80 - Josh Blake (Grace, 2009)
74 - Drew Akins (Boyd-Buchanan, 2005)
68 - Steven Washington (Rome, 2009)
Longest TD Run
47 yards - Paul Walton (Ridgeland, 2011)
Most Yards Passing
167 - Drew Nelson (Notre Dame, 2006)
148 - Nic Hughes (Boyd-Buchanan, 2009)
135 - Caleb Callahan (Northwest Whitfield, 2005)
121 - Cameron Tallent (Rhea County, 2011)
103 - 2 tied
Most Completions
11 - Drew Nelson (Notre Dame, 2006)
Longest TD Pass
78 yards - Tim Benford (Red Bank) to Eric Penn (Brainerd), 2008
Most Yards Receiving
112 - Tim Benford (Red Bank, 2008)
100 - Joseph Derrick (Brainerd, 2011)
78 - Eric Penn (Brainerd, 2008)
68 - Orlandus Harris (Brainerd, 2008)
Longest Reception
78 yards - Eric Penn (Brainerd, 2008)
Longest Kick Return
68 yards - Chas Scruggs (Lookout Valley, 2008)
Most Touchdowns
2 - Michael Davenport (Central, 2004)
2 - Stan Ingram (Darlington, 2005)
2 - Tim Benford (Red Bank, 2008)
2 - John Hampton (Dade County, 2011)
Most Extra Points
5 - Mike Hammonds (Polk County, 2008)
Longest Field Goal
42 yards - John Long (Ooltewah, 2010)
34 yards - Dustin Lewis (Heritage, 2012)
31 yards - Josh Davis (Rhea County, 2009)
30 yards - Gorge Galvis (Coosa, 2006)
Longest Punt
70 yards - Weston Perry (Boyd-Buchanan, 2006)
Most Tackles
14 - Dan Turner (East Ridge, 2004)
Most Sacks
2 - Darius Benham (Cartersville, 2006)
2 - Tymon Hudson (Rome, 2007)
2 - Cody Thomas (Boyd-Buchanan, 2008)
2 - Micah Kidd (East Ridge, 2010)
2- Justin Adekoya (Heritage, 2012)
Most Interceptions
2 - Joe Muir (Marion County, 2009)
2 - Blue Cooper (Coosa, 2005)
Longest Interception for TD
45 yards - Blue Cooper (Coosa, 2005)
Most Points, Team
41 - Tennessee, 2008
Largest Margin of Victory, Team
41 - Tennessee, 2008 (41-0)