TnVarsity - TN Titans Mr. Football named
football Edit

TN Titans Mr. Football named

Tennessee's best high school football players for 2007 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by Tennessee Titans.
More than 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school
administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended
the 2007 luncheon at the Nashville Airport Marriott.
High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A
committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in
the 2007 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into
The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the seven
classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. For the sixth time in the history of the award, the top kickers in the state were recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.
1A Lineman
Alex Matlock, Hollow Rock-Bruceton
1A Back
Marco Dailey, Mt. Pleasant
2A Lineman
Dakota Crews, Lewis County
2A Back
Randall Cobb, Alcoa
3A Lineman
Dont'a Hightower, Marshall County
3A Back
Deaunte Mason, Pearl Cohn
4A Lineman
Aaron Douglas, Maryville
4A Back
Brent Burnette, Maryville
5A Lineman
LaDarrius Verge, Riverdale
5A Back
Rodriguez Wilks, Smyrna
Division II-A Lineman
Ben Popeck, St. George's
Division II-A Back
Grant Jessen, St. George's
Division II-AA Lineman
Preston Bailey, MBA
Division II-AAA Back
Ben Bartholomew, MBA
Kicker of the Year
Mike Hammons, Polk County